MovieChat Forums > The Great British Bake Off (2014) Discussion > Season 4 (currently airing on PBS), Epis...

Season 4 (currently airing on PBS), Episode 8


I just finished watching this episode (the one where they used unconventional flour, did a hazelnut dacquoise, and made a dairy-free 3D novelty cake) and have a couple of questions.

1) Since the Showstopper said the ingredients had to be dairy-free, how was Christine able to use store-bought marshmallows? I thought those were made with egg whites, which are dairy. I initially wondered about Ruby and Frances using chocolate (which I've always thought had cream in it) but they appeared to make their own and used other ingredients.

2) When Ruby was shown breaking a big chunk out of her glass mixing bowl, did she remake her frosting (or whatever she was making at the time)? I know it looked like it was just 1 big piece of glass and that it went outward and fell to the ground but there could have been little shards of glass that went into the frosting.

reply

Most commercial marshmallows are just sugar, water and gelatin and coated with cornstarch.

I too wondered about the bowl. If Ruby still used that frosting, I would worry about glass chips. 

If I remember correctly, there was mention of coconut oil or milk in making the chocolate.


~*~*~  ~*~*~

reply

I heard Frances say that she used coconut oil or milk in her chocolate and I saw Ruby tempering her chocolate so I initially assumed she just used commercial-grade chocolate but she probably did the same as Frances.

As for the marshmallows (which I despise and never eat), I didn't know they used gelatin; I'd always assumed it was egg whites.

reply

Some marshmallows do use egg whites, but I think most commercial ones use gelatin.



~*~*~  ~*~*~

reply

Eggs aren't a dairy product.

reply

Okay, my bad. I guess I was thinking about vegans not eating eggs and got it wrong. Sorry.

reply

It can be easy to be confused. Eggs seem to be included in the dairy section in stores, so it's natural to group them together.

reply

I thought those were made with egg whites, which are dairy.


How is something produced by a chicken dairy?



I'm the clever one; you're the potato one.

reply